QT: chapter about & blog

Texas Chapter Office at Penn Field

The Texas Chapter of The Recording Academy operates as one of 12 regional Chapters that link the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences to its membership. Serving Texas, Oklahoma and New Mexico, the Chapter sponsors numerous educational workshops and networking events for its membership and the community.

Members of Texas' recording industry established a branch of the Recording Academy in 1994. The branch became The Recording Academy's eighth chapter when it achieved Chapter status (recruiting more than 400 voting members) in January 1998 and was the first new Academy Chapter in more than 23 years.

The Texas Chapter is dedicated to promoting quality educational programming and networking opportunities to its membership while serving as a catalyst for uniting the Texas music community. Programs supported by the Texas Chapter benefit all associates of the music industry by promoting topics that reflect the diverse professions and interests of its membership. The Chapter also maintains a special interest in supporting the Latin music industry in partnership with the Latin Recording Academy. The Chapter's programs include:

• Professional Education Series

• GRAMMY SoundChecks

• Membership Party at SXSW Conference

• GRAMMY Awards Viewing Parties

• GRAMMY In The Schools

Texas music and the artists who call Texas home have left a large, diverse and historical impact on the recording industry, and the Chapter's prominent membership demonstrates that the Lone Star State will continue to make important contributions. For more information regarding the Texas Chapter or its upcoming events, please contact the office at 512.328.7997 or via e-mail at texas@grammy.com.

Click here to view the Texas Chapter video.



Eric Jarvis
Carlos Alvarez
Tamera Bennett
Malcolm Harper
Gilbert Velasquez
Paul Wall

David Acosta
Jay Boy Adams
Randy Adams
Carlos Alvarez
Ricky Anderson
Caroline Burruss
CJ Eiriksson
Ernie Gonzales
Malcolm Harper
Gary Hickinbotham
Terrany Johnson
Danny Jones
Freddie Krc
David Messier
Merry Miller

Casey Monahan
Laura Mordecai
Donnie Nelson
Rick Orozco
Tim Palmer
Dick Reeves
Carlos Sosa
Joseph Stallone
Carl Thiel
Alex Treviño
Andréa Villarreal
Heather Wagner Reed
Paul Wall
Dan Workman

James "Pharoah" Brown
Fletch Wiley


3601 South Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78704
Ph: 512.328.7997
Fx: 512.328.7998